Chhattisgarh, Hindi pronunciation: Thirty-Six Forts is one of the 28 states of India, located in the centre-east of the country. It is the ninth-largest state in India, with an area of 135,192 km2 (52,198 sq mi). The state was formed on 1 November 2000 by partitioning ten Chhattisgarhi and six Gondi speaking   southeastern districts of Madhya Pradesh. The capital city is Raipur.

Raipur is the executive head office of Raipur District. Earlier, this city was a part of Madhya Pradesh State and later on when Chhattisgarh came into existence, it became the capital city of Chhattisgarh. It is located in the prolific plains of Chhattisgarh state. The city lies in the south eastern parts of upper Mahanadi valley and has some hilly areas in southern and eastern parts. The climate of the city is somewhat tropical wet and dry. Temperature of the city remains normal for the whole year.

Raipur is famous for its historical as well as archeological perspectives. It is considered that the city was a part of Kosal that is now the western part of Orissa state of India. There are various places and ruined parts of the forts that signify that how old the city is. Some of the major attractions in Raipur are Mahant Ghasidas Museum, Guru Tegh Bahadur Museum, Vivekananda Sarovar, Kanha National Park, Achanakmar Wildlife Sanctuary, Amarkantak, Barnawapara, Banjari Mata Mandir, Nandanvan Garden, Rajeev Smriti Van, Mahant Ghasi Das Memorial Museum, Gandhi Udyaan, Shadani Darbar, Nagar Ghadi, Budha Lake, Urja Park, Dudhadari Temple, Chhuikhadan Palace etc.

The climate of Chhattisgarh is tropical. It is hot and humid because of its proximity to the Tropic of Cancer and its dependence on the monsoons for rains.

Raipur Junction railway station is situated on the Howrah-Nagpur-Mumbai line of the Indian Railways (via Bhusawal, Nagpur, Gondia, Bilaspur, Rourkela, Kharagpur) and is connected with most major cities.

Raipur has connectivity with all nearby metro cities viz. Chennai, Kolkata, Delhi, Hyderabad and Nagpur.